Daily Archives: June 22, 2008

Potentially bidding on Honda Civic (ends in 2 hours)

I’ve found a Honday Civic on ebay that I’m tempted to bid on. It’s quite cheap but looks in good nick, apart from a dent on one side and a hole in the bumper (but that kind of thing doesn’t put me off! I love my cars to be rough around the edges 😉 ).

Anyway, there is currently one bid on the car and the auction ends in 2h 39 minutes. I’ve already emailed the buyer as the car is outside Edinburgh so I would have to get a train to get there (which I’m quite happy to do if I get a decent bargain!).

So, as a preparation, and so as not to be ripped off like, I’ve been consulting WiseBuyer’s Guides to see how much the exact car I’m potentially bidding on is in fact worth. The evaluations for the precise model I’m potentially bidding on are as follows:

  • Retail: £1,750
  • Private Good: £1,280
  • Private Average: £880
  • Private Poor: £490
  • Part Exchange: £1,010
  • Trade: £897

Seeing that the bid currently sits at £745, I think I will put in a bid in the last few seconds of the auction. All I have to do is in my mind decide what the maximum is I’ll pay, considering the fact that

  1. it’s got no tax and
  2. it would be quite inconvenient to get to to pick it up (= additional costs)

As I didn’t want to spend more than £1000 in total, I’ll probably go in with £801 or £802, or maybe (the most!) £851/£852. I’ll do some more research first to see how much tax/insurance it would cost me.

EDIT: LOL LOL LOL. I had totally psyched myself up to bidding on this vehicle, and there were 10seconds left, and then I didn’t submit my bid in time!! LMFAO.