Daily Archives: November 7, 2006

Is there a Point in Signing up to MySpace?

One of the central aspects of Web 2.0 for me personally has been that I have signed up to a number of online networking/social community/Web 2.0 sites. For example, I’m a member of (in no particular order) youtube, flickr, LinkedIn, openBC, orkut [cant’ be arsed to provide links]. I don’t particularly participate in any of them, nor are my profiles very extensive/continually updated or a lot of content uploaded. I do sometimes use them as and when required.

I’ve never really thought about joining MySpace, for example. First of all it’s evil Murdoch, secondly, its demographics seems to be (or so I read in the media) mainly teenagers (up to mid-20s maybe) and thirdly, there is nothing in particular I want to tell people about myself (e.g. favourite bands, writers, whatever).

I had a look at it today though as my cousin emailed me a few MySpace links featuring her BF’s metal bands. Here’s one of the bands (Zemial), only for reference. It is metal and so not really my kind of music but I have listened to a few tracks 🙂

The question is:

Is there a Point in Signing up to MySpace?

I’m inclined to think there isn’t for the reasons above. The only way MySpace might be useful for me is just to store data, e.g. mp3 files by our own old band and our old ‘partner band’ grandMal. The problem is that sometimes I want to upload mp3 files to embed them elsewhere. Not copyright-protected stuff but just our own songs, some conversations with friends, etc.

There’s a business idea for you! a ‘flickr’ for audio files! Or does such a site exist already? Alternatively, one of the existing sites could offer (compressed) audio upload alongside the other media forms.

I think I might be on to something here 😛