Daily Archives: September 21, 2008

New Job I’ve got my Eyes On

I’ve got my eyes on potentially a new job within the same company. I found out last week (Friday in fact) that someone will be leaving their position in the next ‘few months’, whatever that may be (no fixed date yet – they’re moving abroad). They’ve already talked to HR etc. and their job is up for grabs, i.e. it will be advertised internally soon.

Now, why would I want a different job to the one I’m doing right now? The main reason is I don’t have enough say on things. I’m a ‘born leader’, i.e. I thrive on responsibility and status, and being tasked with actually moving things forward. In my current position I’m trying my best to move things forward etc., but ultimately I come up against people that have the power to decide, irrespective how informed that decision is or how much they know. And there’s nothing I can do about it!

The other thing that bothers me is that they overload me with stuff left, right, and centre, and everything needs to be recorded/justified. Basically you’re being treated a little bit like a child and not taken too seriously – though that might just be the style of my particular ‘line manager’.

The bottom line is, I’m too advanced to do the job that I’m currently in. I need more responsibility, more say, more power, more money. I need my own team to manage!