Daily Archives: December 3, 2007

How Intellectuals Can Feed the Poor by Sitting on Their Arse and Feeling Intelligent

I came across this – FreeRice – it was on the WordPress featured blogs which I never usually look at.

Basically, it’s like Nintendo DS Brain Training, only that each time you select the right meaning from a multiple choice question, you apparently donate 20 grains of rice. C00l idea.

What I don’t understand that it says in the FAQs that the money is donated by advertisers whose ads are displayed underneath:

The rice is paid for by the advertisers whose names you see on the bottom of your vocabulary screen.

Only I can’t see any ads displayed under my questions. I wonder if they’ve been blocked by my Firefox..

Anyway, if it *is* true, then we should all spend some time each day playing the game, instead of updating our Facebook status and writing on walls 😐