Daily Archives: December 23, 2007

Don’t send me the Elf Yourself viral

I’ve now received the Elf Yourself – viral website from 4 different people :S

  • First, back in November, from some guys at the agency I work for – they sent it round to the whole office
  • A week or so ago, a friend sent it to me
  • Shortly after, another friend, residing in Italy, did the same
  • And finally, my one London friend send it to me today.

Yes, it’s kinda funny, and it’s a clever viral idea. It’s also immensely popular and last year helped contribute to a 20% traffic increase during the holiday period for OfficeMax.

In fact I do faintly remember ElfYourself from last year, but I think it’s much bigger this time round.

Perfect idea though, to create a viral website that can be relaunched every year, ad infinitum, at the same URL, at no (or hardly any) extra cost. The people at OfficeMax must be very happy.

The same concept of course applies to popular Xmas songs, such as The Pogues’ Fairytale of New York (= brilliant), and Slade’s Merry Christmas Everybody (= rubbish). A hit, played every year constantly in the time running up to Christmas, guaranteeing a nice solid income for the songwriters, forever (thus keeping Shane McGowan in the drink, who, BTW, turns 50 on the 25th December!).