Wee Break in August

Maxïmo ParkImage via Wikipedia

I’ve been considering going for a wee break somewhere in August. I thought of going to Austria, to the BarCamp Traunsee to be precise, and to pay my friend anaj a visit at the same time. I’ve always wanted to go to Vienna! I’d even planned how to get there – fly with easyJet to Munich, and then get a train (ICE) down into Austria.

However I don’t think I’m going to do it now, for a number of reasons. Most importantly, the time I had planned to go, the Edinburgh festivals are in full swing. I’ve got tickets to see Maximo Park at the Corn Exchange on, I think, Aug. 18th, and to be honest I like being here during the festival. The other point is that August is probably not the best time to see Vienna – it’ll be quite expensive, and I’m planning to go for a longer holiday (to Italy) at the end of Sept. anyway.

What I’ll probably do is still take a few days off in August – maybe just 4 days (e.g. Aug 19-22nd), and spend the money saved on seeing some decent shows at the festivals. I might even go into the Highlands for a night, or to Glasgow, or both (e.g. one day Glasgow, one day Highlands), staying in some B&Bs and getting some peace and quiet. The other thing to bear in mind is that I need to put some money aside for these bloody alloy wheels. I put this fucking ebay sniper tool on the case to snipe in 3 seconds before the end of the auction – but when I got back home, I noticed it hadn’t worked. The fucker hadn’t even put a bid in for me! Annoying, especially seeing that the alloys went for just over £20, which would have been great value 😐

So – Austria is for next year, maybe in Spring. This August I’m either going to go to Edinburgh (ha! sad! I cannae get away!), or catch a flight over to Germany to see my mates in Cologne (though again the flights will be sucky and expensive at this time of year 😐 )

Zemanta Pixie